Fashion Textile Museum 25/03/17

Today I visited Joseph Franck “Patterns-Furniture-Painting” exhibition in Fashion Textile Museum in London. Before going to London I searched fro exhibition that can help me for my project. I found on in Saatchi Gallery and I went there, but it was closes until 31th of March, so I went to Fashion Textile Museum.

I explored  the work of designer and artist Josef Frank (1885-1967) in the first-ever UK exhibition of his textiles. The Austrian-born architect moved to Sweden in 1933, where he developed his colourful brand of modernism, working with Estrid Ericson on furniture, glassware, lighting and interior design ideas. Together they redefined what is regarded as Swedish Modern. This exhibition in association with Millesgården, Stockholm highlights Frank’s vibrant fabric designs for Svenskt Tenn alongside a number of his previously unknown watercolors. ( http://www.ftmlondon.org/ftm-exhibitions/josef-frank-patterns-furniture-painting/ ).

All exhibition was in eclectic style with bright colors and different types of prints and patterns. I like the most first installation like a room with multicolor wallpaper, sofa and carpet. I wish I could to a photoshoot there. On the first picture on the right side there is textile design ‘Hawaii’ and on the second one , one left side “Primavera” pattern.

IMG_8566.jpg

IMG_8570.jpg

These two striped fabrics also caught my eye, because they are vivid.  First is more colorful, but  all the lines are straight and located with the same distance from each other. The second is not multicolor, but stripes are located differently , not in the same position. These fabrics have 2 eclectic mood, thats what I am looking for.

IMG_8575.jpg
striped fabrics “Multi Stripe” 2014
IMG_8579.jpg
fabric “Flow” 2015

“Bows” c1930. Originally a carpet design by Joseph Frank for Haus und Garten Wienna, produced by Johann Backhausen&Söhne as ARCADE. Now reproduced as interior fabric by Almedahls Sweden 2016.

IMG_8582.jpg
interior fabric “Bows” 2016

IMG_8587.jpg

By the way to Museum I saw a gallery “Eames Fine Art” and I entered there and there were Harvey Daniels’ exhibition with multicolor abstract works.

IMG_8591.jpg

I liked the most a painting “Fantasia 2” 1989. Acrylic on canvas. This worked caught my eye , because if it mix of vivid colors and geometric figures in differ sizes that are located in chaotic way.

IMG_8594.jpg

Leave a Reply

